something bigger…..or smaller…

I was thinking about my blog earlier today. I originally started my “living peacefully with children” blog at the suggestion of my husband, who thought perhaps I could use an anonymous venue in which to rant about the injustices in the world – namely those injustices regarding the treatment of children, which he so frequently heard. At the time it was a good idea. However, several years later, I find myself in a different place. I no longer desire the same venue and wanted a change of pace for my blog. Hopefully my followers, those who once upon a time stumbled across my poor little anonymous blog, will find the change in address.

I asked myself what it is that I wanted to do with my blog. Afterall, I’m not a journaler by heart. Once upon a time I wrote, but journaling never appealed to me. So, what was the purpose of having a blog? I thought to myself that it was to be part of something bigger. My husband has been asking me for years when I was going to sit down and write a book about consensual living. The idea is grand, but where to begin? My parenting is based on instinct, supported by the extensive research of others, and tested by my loving children. How would I go about writing a book? At this point in my mental debate, I passed by the bedroom mirror.

I’m not one to stare at myself in the mirror, however I caught a glimpse this evening. My belly called to me as I saw it in its stretched and growing state. It was then that I connected my growing belly with my earlier discussions of parenting being a way to grow as a person. It was at that point that the realization came. I am already part of something bigger by merely sharing my life with these wonderful little people. While it sounds cliche, there really is no more important job than parenting.

Obviously then, my blog isn’t about allowing myself to be a part of something bigger. It’s about something much, much smaller. It’s about me. It’s about my personal journey and growth, which often takes the form of parenting, as parenting often stretches us past our limits and catalyzes the growth of our souls.

Please feel free to join me on my journey….

2 thoughts on “something bigger…..or smaller…

Leave a Reply

