Boxing Day

Growing up, our family celebrated Boxing Day. It isn’t very well known in the States, but I suppose having grandparents who moved here made it more prevalent for us. However, not much was said about it. In fact, when I mentioned it to my sister one time as adults, she hadn’t even realized that we celebrated the holiday. I’m certain our brothers were equally oblivious. I’ve made it more of a presence in my children’s lives.
 
Photo by Rob Howells

Boxing Day is generally celebrated on December 26th. You will find all sorts of theories to explain both its existence and name. However, the general idea found in every explanation is that it is a day to think of others less fortunate than (or in a subservient position to) one’s self.

Most people have finished exchanging gifts for whatever holiday(s) they celebrate. It’s a good time to take stock of what you have and what you actually need/want and to give some of your stuff to others. You can start the New Year with a freshly decluttered home, and rid your life of some of the excess stuff from well-meaning relatives littering your floor. Box up all of your unwanted items and give it to someone who could use it. Spend some time thinking about how your actions impact others, and make a difference in someone’s life.

One thought on “Boxing Day

  1. I mentioned Boxing Day to my husband this morning and he hadn’t even heard of it. We never celebrated it himself, but it is something I try to do all along the way – not just on one day. I guess that also suits my thoughts on gift-giving. I’d rather give gifts randomly when I happen upon something that I know will make someone smile than to feel I must do gifts on a specific day. (That doesn’t include birthdays! Everyone should be spoiled on their birthday!)

Leave a Reply

