A Revamped Ceiling Fan

Our house was built in the mid-90’s with a lot of building materials from the 1980’s. While we have replaced lighting and I am preparing to paint the cabinets and trim in an attempt to remove their golden oak glory, the ceiling fan has also been a source of contention.

My husband has wanted to replace our ceiling fan for a long time. It’s brass fittings have long mocked him. While I wasn’t agasint replacing it, we never really saw any ceiling fans we loved for an affordable price and I wasn’t willing to pay the price of a ceiling fan for something that wasn’t any better than what we already had.

A few weeks ago I set up my step ladder for the task of cleaning the blades while my husband was on his way home from work. I quickly realized it was tim eto actually take the blades off for a good scrubbing in the sink. Cleaning them in place just wasn’t going to cut it this time. As I unscrewed the blades, I began to think about how easy it would be to unscrew all of the brass colored pieces.

In the 30 minutes it took my husband to get home from work, I had successfully disassembled all pertinent parts of the ceiling fan. My husband good-naturedly complained that it wasn’t worth my time until I said that if it didn’t work, I would agree to the purchase of a new fan. A quick trip to the store for a $3.50 can of silver spray paint had me transforming the brass fan into a brushed nickle fan. It turned out well. Despite the fact my husband was not so secretly hoping the project would fail, he admitted that it actually turned out well.

Leave a Reply

