A Dinosaur Safari

I recently took my children to one of the local botanical gardens. They were having a dinosaur exhibit throughout the park.

I handed the map to my children, who were more than happy to navigate our way through the park, keeping track of where we should see various dinosaurs.

The first few were easy to find, but later dinosaurs took a more practiced eye to see in the foliage. It made it feel more like a real safari.

During that day, I also discovered my daughter’s love of photography. I myself love photography, although I’ve never taken the time to learn much about it. Perhaps that will be the push for me to start learning – in order to help her.

The gardens were beautiful.

Signs near the dinosaurs gave limited facts about the species, to which my children added.

A discussion ensued about which of today’s animals were related to which dinosaurs.

Some of the exhibits were quite life-like.

We rehasehed our old debate about whether dragons were more likely to be warm or cold blooded. That’s a topic for another day, but we are still in the warm blooded camp.

By the time we made it to the end of the park, we were in full swing. I gave a stage whispered, “Don’t move!” My children looked around to see what it was I saw, spotting the great T-Rex.

From which we had to run for our lives.

~~~~~~~~~
Our Family Creates! from Code Name: Mama and Living Naturally With Children

Our theme for July’s Families, Create! Make and Play Carnival was “swashbucklers.” Check out what our participants created this month:

With cat-like tread, upon their way they steal, Zoie at TouchstoneZ‘s sons are inspired to perform a little dramatic piracy as captured in pictures.

Brittany at Mama’s Felt Cafe shares a tutorial for making an easy hand sewn felt pirate crown. No fancy stitching required!

Argh, mateys! Dionna at Code Name: Mama has written ye a tutorial to make easy pirate eye patches.

Lauren at Hobo Mama presents parrot play (sprinkled with humor) for your petite pirates.

A trip to a local botanical garden turned into a dinosaur safari at Living Peacefully with Children.

Shiver me timbers! If you have a pirate lover, check out “How to Make a Pirate Treasure Hunt Plus Other Fun Pirate Crafts and Activities” from Dionna at Code Name: Mama.

Be sure to join us for August’s carnival, our theme is “Weird and Wonderful.”

~~~~~~~~~

7 thoughts on “A Dinosaur Safari

  1. Pingback: The Pirate Kings « TouchstoneZ

  2. Pingback: July Families, Create! Make and Play Carnival Wrap Up « TouchstoneZ

  3. Thank you for the dinosaurs. I called my kids in to look at the photos because they are super into them right now. They said almost the same thing about the T-Rex. “Don’t move. He tracks you when you move!”

  4. Pingback: Families Create! July Wrap Up « living peacefully with children

Leave a Reply

